Indonesian Film Project

I can’t believe it, but the time is finally coming for me to pack up and go to Indonesia for a few months to start filming for my final master’s thesis project. I’ve kept pretty quite about my intentions in Indonesia, but I finally have a plan of action…but like all qualitative research, the project is emergent and is bound to change.

Here is the plan for now — I will be making a video that focuses on understanding what the experience of action sport means to a handful of female Indonesian athletes. The physical feelings, the emotional experience, the mental processing of what is happening while the athletes walk the line between control and chaos. I’ve chosen to focus on action-sport athletes because they are much closer to my heart than traditional sports, however, the goal of the video is to inspire all female athletes regardless of sport, ethnicity, or background.

The working title is “The Eighth Parallel” and below is the official website for the project:

http://theeighthparallel.tumblr.com/

Finding women to be a part of my project has been a huge challenge because action-sports are not a popular activity with women in Indonesia, however, there are a few dedicated women athletes that I have been in contact with. Thanks so much to Risa Suseanty , Gino from Oakley Indonesia, Stefy Bau, The Gibbon Climbing Club, and of course my family and friends at home for all your help on the project so far! Sometimes it has felt like I’m tracking the snow leopard with this project, but it finally seems to be coming together. Such a fun process!

If you’d like to sponsor the video, please send me an email, as I am currently looking for funding and have a nice little pdf that further explains the project 🙂

I’ll keep the film blog updated throughout this crazy 6-month journey so keep checkin’ back!

Ciao for now.

 

About hellodarcy

I like bodies of water, piles of earth (the snowy or trail-laden type), two-wheeled human-powered machines, forests, waves and the things that ride them, powder days, Michel Gondry videos, trying to make videos like Michel Gondry videos, passing the pages of story books through my occipital lobe and into my cerebral cortex, cats (particularly mine), what's at the other end of a long plane ride, wandering, pulling paintbrushes over things, unknowns, going really fast, weightlessness, body moving, bobbing, music listening, music playing, the earth and all the people who borrow it from their grandchildren. I am a pro freeride mountain biker and I have a degree in Geography and Environmental Studies...soon to be outdone by an MA in Intercultural Communication. I also host and produce television shows. Please see my website www.hellodarcy.com for more details! Happy blog-reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indonesian Film Project

  1. Lucka Mantra says:

    You are an amazing young woman and an inspiration to me! Happy travels 🙂

  2. Lucka Mantra says:

    You are an amazing young woman and an inspiration to me! Looking forward to the film 🙂

Leave a Reply

